Landowska - Le Temple de la Musique Ancienne



Le Temple de la Musique Ancienne



Includes bonus DVD-ROM on the history of 

Landowska’s Temple de la Musique Ancienne

Paradizo PA0009


Johann Sebastian Bach

Partita in B-flat (BWV 825)

1  Praeludium             

2  Allemande              

3  Corrente                 

4  Sarabande               

5  Menuet I                

6  Menuet II               

7  Menuet I, da capo  

8  Gigue                      


3 Little Preludes

9  Prelude in D (BWV 936)               

10  Prelude in E (BWV 937)              

11  Prelude in E minor (BWV 938)    


Italian Concerto (BWV 971)

12  (Allegro) 

13  Andante   

14  Presto       


English Suite in A minor (BWV 807)

15  Prélude                             

16  Allemande                        

17  Courante                          

18  Sarabande                         

19  Bourrée I                          

20  Bourrée II                         

21  Bourrée I, da capo            

22  Gigue                                


23  Toccata in D (BWV 912)           


Chromatic Fantasia & Fugue (BWV 903)

24  Fantasia                

25  Fugue                   


Wanda Landowska, Harpsichord


A special multi-media project in a limited edition from Paradizo.

This museum quality publication, featuring Paradizo’s elegant packaging and presentation, includes:

Audio CD: Wanda Landowska’s historic Bach recordings, remastered in new, state-of-the-art transfers.

DVD-ROM: A collection of over 150 images: photos, architect’s plans & letters on Landowska’s Concert Hall & Gardens from 1927-1940, with a commentary on each image by Skip Sempé. Also includes unpublished documents from the archives of the architect Jean-Charles Moreux.  The DVD-ROM employs the latest version of Adobe Acrobat Reader.

Booklet: An essay by Skip Sempé on the conception, design, architecture & history of the Temple de la Musique Ancienne in Saint-Leu-la-Foret (France).

Wanda Landowska recorded major Bach harpsichord works (1935/36) in the legendary acoustics of her own concert hall, the Temple de la Musique Ancienne, designed by Landowska and noted French architect Jean-Charles Moreux. These recordings are considered to be among the most remarkable Bach interpretations of the twentieth century.

The Temple de la Musique Ancienne was the first centre of performance and learning for the harpsichord and for Baroque music to be created in the twentieth century. This project commemorates Landowska’s vital impact on music making between the years 1927 and 1940.

The entire harpsichord revival and  « early music » movement began with Landowska’s performances and teaching at the Temple de la Musique Ancienne.

Paradizo is especially pleased to release this special project, which will help to increase awareness concerning the current plans for the preservation and restoration of the Temple de la Musique Ancienne and the revival of its activities.


Recorded 1935-36

Temple de la Musique Ancienne, Saint-Leu-la-Forêt, France

Harpsichord by Pleyel, made between 1912 & 1936

Executive Producer: Fred Gaisberg, 1935-36

Digital remastering from original sources for Paradizo

Seth B. Winner Sound Studios, Inc., 2010

Label & Artistic Director: Skip Sempé

Artwork & document retouching: Massimo Polvara

DVD-ROM editing: Melissa Brunet


Total time  73’33